The browser you are using is not supported by this website. All versions of Internet Explorer are no longer supported, either by us or Microsoft (read more here:

Please use a modern browser to fully experience our website, such as the newest versions of Edge, Chrome, Firefox or Safari etc.

Knut and Alice Wallenberg Foundation

The Knut and Alice Wallenberg Foundation has for decades played an important role for funding of cutting-edge equipment, including a large enabling grant when the Lund Nano Lab was built.
Today, the Foundation grants funding in the following areas: research projects of high scientific potential, infrastructure of national importance and individual support of excellent scientists.

Researchers within NanoLund have received the following grants: 

Research projects of high scientific potential:

  • Photofunctional iron complexes. Kenneth Wärnmark, 2019
  • Controlled atomic scale 3D ordering for exotic electronic phases. Kimberly Dick Thelander, 2017
  • Nanothermodynamics for optoelectronic semiconductor devices. Heiner Linke, 2016
  • Physical chemistry of peptide-lipid co-assembly: from lipid-rich to peptide-rich. Sara Linse, 2016
  • A new generation of slow light systems. Stefan Kröll, 2016
  • Anisotropic Forces in Colloid Chemistry. Peter Schurtenberger, 2014
  • Aerotaxy: a revolutionary new way to grow semiconductor nanowires.  Lars Samuelson, 2011 (with continuation grants in 2013 and 2015)
  • Controlling quantum coherence. Tönu Pullerits, 2011

Infrastructure of national importance:

  • Environmental electronmicroscopy facility. Reine Wallenberg 2013
  • Equipment for nanotechnology: Epitaxial Cluster Tool for Fundamental Studies of III-V Semiconductor Interfaces. Lars Montelius, 2012

Individual support to excellent scientists:

  • Stephanie Reimann. Wallenberg Scholar 2019
  • Kimberly Dick Thelander. Wallenberg Academy Fellow 2012, promoted to Wallenberg Scholar in 2019
  • Anne L’Huillier. Wallenberg Scholar 2009

Scholarship Program:

  • Martin Hjort, for work at Stanford University. 2014/2015
  • Jens Uhlig, for work at ESRF, Grenoble. 2012/2013